List of ICC World Cup Winners From 1975 to 2022 | ICCT20WC

List of ICC World Cup Winners

ICC World Cup Winners: The ICCT20WC was first held in England in 1975 as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side.

In 1987, it was held outside England for the first time in India and Pakistan. Overs per side were also reduced to 50 in 1987.

The most successful nation in cricket world cup winners list for T20 and ODI is Australia with 5 ODI World Cups. India & West Indies have won two world cups each.

You may be surprised to learn that ICC has been hosting the same 50 over and 20 over World Cup tournament for women since 1973. Check out the ICC Women’s World Cup winners list along with the captains who won their matches.

Men’s ICC Cricket World Cup Winners and Runners

There will be a Cricket World Cup in India in 2023. On this page we will read the complete schedule of the ICC World Cup.

Following is the list of the winners of the 50 overs ICC Men’s World Cup along with the runners up and hosts for each year:

YearWorld Cup WinnerRunners UpHostFinals Venue
1975West IndiesAustraliaEnglandLord’s Cricket Ground, London
1979West IndiesEnglandEnglandLord’s Cricket Ground, London
1983IndiaWest IndiesEnglandLord’s Cricket Ground, London
1987AustraliaEnglandIndia & PakistanEden Gardens, Kolkata
1992PakistanEnglandAustralia & New ZealandMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
1996Sri LankaAustraliaIndia, Pakistan & Sri LankaGaddafi Stadium, Lahore
1999AustraliaPakistanEnglandLord’s Cricket Ground, London
2003AustraliaIndiaAustraliaWanderers, Johannesburg
2007AustraliaSri LankaAustraliaKensington Oval, Bridgetown
2011IndiaSri LankaIndiaWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustraliaMelbourne Cricket Ground
2019EnglandNew ZealandEnglandLord’s, London
ICC World Cup Winners

ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

An ICC trophy requires a huge contribution from the captain of the team in order to win a cricket match.

Below is a detailed list of cricket world cup winning captains since 1975:

2019EnglandEoin Morgan
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1992PakistanImran Khan
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1975West IndiesClive Lloyd
ICC World Cup Winners

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List

Under MS Dhoni’s captaincy, India won the first-ever T20 Cricket World Cup in 2007, and the ICC World Cup champions are as follows:

YearWinnerRunners UpHostFinals Venue
2007IndiaPakistanSouth AfricaWanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
2009PakistanSri LankaEnglandLord’s, London
2010EnglandAustraliaWest IndiesKensington Oval, Bridgetown
2012West IndiesSri LankaSri LankaR. Premadasa Stadium
2014Sri LankaIndiaBangladeshSher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka
2016West IndiesEnglandIndiaEden Gardens, Kolkata
2021AustraliaNew ZealandIndia(UAE)Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai
ICC World Cup Winners

ICC T20 WC Winning Captains List

MSD captaincy led India to victory in the inaugural T20 World Cup Tournament. The match against Pakistan is considered one of the most thrilling in ICC World Cup history.

The following are the ICC T20 World Cup winning captains:

YearWinning TeamCaptain
2007IndiaM S Dhoni
2009PakistanYounis Khan
2010EnglandPaul Collingwood
2012West IndiesDarren Sammy
2014Sri LankaDinesh Chandimal
Lasith Malinga
2016West IndiesDarren Sammy
2021AustraliaAaron Finch
ICC World Cup Winners

Interesting Facts On Cricket World Cup

In both men’s and women’s tournaments, Australia has won the most World Cup titles.

Twelve teams participate in various ICC Men’s tournaments, including India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Ireland, West Indies, and Sri Lanka.

Only India and Australia have won the World Cup in both 50 and 60 over formats.

Till date, only India has won the Men’s World Cup in 50 overs, 60 overs, and 20 overs.

Some Stats About Women’s Cricket World Cup

Aside from the Men’s Cricket World Cup, the ICC also organizes the Women’s Cricket World Cup.

Women’s Cricket World Cup was first held in England in 1973 – two years before the men’s event.

The ICC Women’s Championship and World Cup Qualifier qualify players for the Women’s Cricket World Cup.

Since 1997, no new teams have debuted in the Women’s Cricket World Cup. Eight teams have participated in every edition.

In Women’s Cricket World Cup history, Australia has won the trophy seven times. In the final of the 2022 edition at Christchurch in New Zealand, the Aussies defeated England by 71 runs, making them the reigning champions of the marquee tournament.

India and West Indies have reached the final but failed to lift the trophy, while Australia’s arch-rivals England have won the Cricket World Cup four times.

Women’s Cricket World Cup winners

1993EnglandNew Zealand
1997AustraliaNew Zealand
2000New ZealandAustralia
2009EnglandNew Zealand
2013AustraliaWest Indies
ICC World Cup Winners