List of Centuries in T20 World Cup

Centuries in T20 World Cup

Centuries in T20 World Cup: Since the inaugural T20 World Cup was held in 2007, many hard-hitting T20 batsmen have reached three-figure marks in this tournament. However, Chris Gayle was the first batsman in the T20 world cup to hit a hundred on his way to a brilliant knock of 117 off 57 balls against South Africa with seven boundaries and ten sixes in Johannesburg in 2007.

To date, 11 centuries have been scored by batsmen in this premier World T20 championship, led by Brendon McCullum’s. In the T20 World Cup 2012, the Kiwi opener hit a blitzkrieg knock of 123 against Bangladesh, which remains the highest individual score.

T20 World Cup Century List

Player NameScore4s6sAgainstScorecard
Chris Gayle (West Indies)117 runs in 57 Balls710South Africa11-09-2007
Suresh Raina (India)101 runs in 60 Balls95South Africa02-05-2010
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)100 runs in 64 Balls104Zimbabwe03-05-2010
Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) 123 runs in 58 Balls117Bangladesh21-09-2012
Alex Hales (England)116* runs in 64 Balls116Sri Lanka27-03-2014
Ahmed Shehzad (Pakistan) 111* runs in 62 Balls105Bangladesh30-03-2014
Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)103* runs in 63 Balls 105Oman13-03-2016
Chris Gayle (West Indies)100* runs in 48 balls511England16-03-2016
Jos Buttler (England)101* runs in 67 balls66Sri Lanka01-11-2021
Rilee Rossouw (South Africa)109 runs in 56 balls78Bangladesh27-10-2022
Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)104 Runs in 64 balls104Sri Lanka29-10-2022
Centuries in T20 World Cup

In the T20 world cup, Chris Gayle has hit the most centuries. During his career, he has scored 100+ runs twice. The first occurred in 2007 and the second occurred in 2016.

T20 World Cup 2007: 100

Against South Africa, Chris Gayle (West Indies) scored 117 (57b, 4s x 7, 6s x 10).

T20 World Cup 2009: 100

In this edition of the World T20 championship, no century was hit.

T20 World Cup 2010 century

Raina (India) scored 101* (60b, 4s x 9, 6s x 5) against South Africa.

Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka) scored 100 (64b, 4s x 10, 6s x 4) against Zimbabwe.

T20 World Cup 2012 century

Against Bangladesh, Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) scored 123 (58b, 4s x 11, 6s x 7).

T20 World Cup 2014 century

Alex Hales (England) 116* (64b, 4s x 11, 6s x 6) against Sri Lanka.

Pakistan’s Ahmed Shehzad scored 111* (62b, 4s x 10, 6s x 5) against Bangladesh.

T20 World Cup 2016 century

Tamim Iqbal scored 103* runs in 63 balls against OMAN on 13-03-2016

Gayle scored 100* runs in 48 balls against England on 16-03-2016

T20 World Cup 2021 century

Jos Buttler scored 101* runs in 67 balls against England on 01-11-2021

T20 World Cup 2022 century

Against Bangladesh, Rilee Rossouw scored the first century of the T20 World Cup 2022. In just 56 balls, he scored 109 runs.

Glenn Phillips scored 104 runs against Sri Lanka

NZ’s Devon Conway hit 92* against Australia.

As of now, Michael Jones from Scotland has the highest score of 86 runs.

Virat Kohli‘s 82* against Pakistan,

Stay tuned for more World T20 updates, trivia, and records.